Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Oblivious Mother and Careless Sister

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Oblivious Mother and Careless Sister

So to start the post, I should give context.

I'm new to credit in the sense that I'm 33 years old now and have had credit for 4 years. (better late than never)

I was actually first introduced to it when I was 18. My mother took a loan and told me it would be for a truck.

Turns out it was for a loan, it was my loan. To my fault, I blindly followed. I didn't question because I didn't know what to ask or what it was for. Again never had credit explained to me.

Fast forward, I was contacted by a debt collector in 2007. Guess what it was about? Now granted, my ignorance was no excuse. I paid it in full, and decided credit was a bad thing.

Now it's 2012, I become self aware of those around me with great credit and decide to research and take the plunge into understanding credit. I start looking at my score (which I had no idea was possible.) I asked questions out of sheer curiousity. All of this let me to getting a secure credit card, and starting my journey to present day.

I say that to say this. My mother is 60 years old has 320,000 dollars in collections because of her health. She had insurance but they covered a portion. She couldn't work because of the surgeury and now she has the accumulated debt. I'm in the process of disputing the debts because of inaccurate information. She has no idea what her credit score is. I asked if it was okay to use Credit Karma to pull it. She said yes, it would be fine. Shes 545. Not terrible. 

So should I put her as an authorized user to help her score? She's not getting a card. I was thinking, if i'm on a journey to better my score...why not take her with me?