Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

November 2017 Check In Thread

tag
ohjoy
Frequent Contributor

Re: November 2017 Check In Thread

@Anonymous wrote:

Great job!  How did you get such high numbers so fast?  I would love any info you would share.  I have been working on my score for a few months with pretty good success but you got over 100 points in 6 months.  

My issues when I started was a short file and a collections account. I started by opening 2 secured accounts with only $200 each and managed those well and then Credit One came along and offered me an unsecured card for $500. I knew it was a crappy card but I needed something unsecured. I also talked my brother into adding me as an AU on one of his accounts to add to my short history. (I don't think i carries much weight now but it helped then). Then, my BIG break came when I signed up for NFCU. This was the best decision for me, creditwise. They originally declined me for a credit card and I tried again that next month after having 3 months of great credit reporting and my brother's account added . They approved me for $7K. I started running my bills through those cards strategically.

My scores started rising steadily but, that collections was holding me down. It was only $541 and had been on my reports for years without me knowing about it (all previous credit was in ex-hubby's name so I never checked). I fought that like it was my fulltime job.  Meantime, I bought a car for my daughter in July and got a loan through NFCU. That helped my credit mix and my profile was starting to look pretty good. But, bac to the collections fight.