Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Adding an installment loan -- the Share Secure technique

tag
Revelate
Moderator Emeritus

Re: Adding an installment loan -- the Share Secure technique

@Anonymous wrote:

If I remember correctly when I signed up with Alliant I indicated I was a member of LIfetime Fitness which I am.  That allowed me to sign up without having to donate $10.  They did not ask for any sort of verification that I was an actual member of LIfetime Fitness.

I am by no means an expert at all at FICO scoring but seeing the cost of the Alliant loan is so low and it seems like age of credit accounts does matter for your score, you may consider opening it up as soon as possible so that your account is as old as possible, but that may not matter that much (if it matters at all) but it is worth mentioning.  

Actually you're spot on, with how the algorithm is time dependent, if you want or need an account don't wait, open it now.  At any point in the future it will be older than if you'd waited... and waiting is just wasting time you don't ever get back in this case.

Speaking of, I should go refinance my mortgage on monday Cat Tongue

        
Message 71 of 1,921
Anonymous
Not applicable

As soon as the funds show up I will apply. 

Message 72 of 1,921
Anonymous
Not applicable

I have one question about this.  Should I do this if I plan to buy a new car in June so I'll have an installment loan on my reports?  As of now, I only have two CCs: a Nordstrom with a CL of $2500 and a Cap1 with a CL of $3500.  I've never had a car loan so I'm not sure if the share secure technique will help or hurt me.  TIA!

Message 73 of 1,921
Revelate
Moderator Emeritus

@jandemonium wrote: