Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Could use some advice in my young age.

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Could use some advice in my young age.

Hello! I'm new to the party. I found these forums while looking for a place to talk personal finance.

I was curious as to what a good FICO score should be for someone in their mid 20s. My parents didn't really teach me about finances and so I rang up some debt out of naivety.

Currently I float between 660-670 (current have 12K CC Debt [No missed payments yet], 26K Student Loan Debt).

After reading some Suze Orman and Dave Ramsey I have a plan of attack using debt snowball, but did I already screw myself up? How good/bad of a place am I in?

Message 1 of 13
12 REPLIES 12
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Could use some advice in my young age.

First, welcome to the forum, and good job for taking charge of your financial future.

One thing I think is important to recognize is the distinction between financial health and what you might call credit health. There are a lot of people who have very high FICO scores, but I would not want their financial situation. Likewise, there are people who are financially very healthy, but they've never used much credit and don't have particularly high scores. They're just two different things.

That doesn't mean you can't have both. In fact, they often go hand in hand. But some of the advice you get here about building credit may be different from what you've been reading about becoming more financially healthy. The advice may be solid for building credit, but it may not always be the best thing for someone trying to break bad habits and learn good money management.