Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

FICO Score inclusions

tag
CC2013
New Visitor

FICO Score inclusions

I have just checked my score for the first time since I am a recent college graduate and saving for a home purchase.  My score was in the very good range with no late credit card payments and nothing delinquent.  I have credit cards listed that are my parents accounts and I am an authorized user.  As an example, one AMEX account was established in 1984 and I was born in 1989. This looks like  Is this a good thing or a bad thing?  I do not have any credit cards in exclusively in my name.  Should I open an account to pay regularly?  Should I have my name removed as an authorized user?  After reading all of this information I am concerned about any sudden moves or inquiries and the potential negative impact to my scores. 

I'm hoping to improve my score to excellent (an additional 35 points) before I make any mortgage applications.  Thoughts?  Advice? 

Thanks

Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
Shogun
Moderator Emeritus

Re: FICO Score inclusions

I do think you need to add maybe a couple of revolving accounts in your name.  Your file is thin, it needs to be thickened up a bit to make it healthy.

Starting Score: 504
July 2013 score:
EQ FICO 819, TU08 778, EX "806 lender pull 07/26/2013
Goal Score: All Scores 760+, Newest goal 800+
Take the myFICO Fitness Challenge

Current scores after adding $81K in CLs and 2 new cars since July 2013
EQ:809 TU 777 EX 790 Now it's just garden time!

June 2017 update: All scores over 820, just pure gardening now.
Message 2 of 6
webhopper
Moderator Emeritus

I think that you should remain as an AU on the American Express.

I think that you should apply for a new American Express Account in your own name.  Also, you may want to pick up a store card or two so that you can begin to establish credit in your own name.