Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How long should I wait?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

How long should I wait?

I've been gardening for about 6 months. I planned to go for much longer, but I decided to break the streak in order to refinance my car loan (Ally Financial - 13.57%) and get away from Ally. I applied for a refinance with PenFed. I did this knowing that they pull Equifax Fico 09, and my EQ Fico 09 Auto score was 718 as of the end of October - so it's probably somewhere just north of that now. All of my accounts are current. 

I was declined for the loan because I had some  delinquincies on my report that were "too recent." I did go 120 days late on some of my student loans (long story, different post) in April - so I'm assuming this is what they were referring to. All of those accounts have been current since May, but I know those will hurt for a very long time. 

That being the case, I will happily go back into gardening, but I am wondering: how will it be before those late payments aren't considered "recent" anymore? They are getting close to 9 months old now - am I looking at a year old, or two, or five? 

Also, how long should I wait before I should consider refinancing my car, or open another card, or anything like that? I mean, in reference to time since last late payment? I don't have a need to open another card anytime soon, but besides gardening I would like to get a lower APR on my car sooner rather than later.

Thanks in Advance! You guys are awesome Smiley Happy

4 REPLIES 4
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: How long should I wait?