cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How should I pay down our credit card debt?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

How should I pay down our credit card debt?

Hi - I am new to FICO scoring.  I want to improve our score of 677. The payment history is very good what is dragging us down is our revolving credit is virtually maxed out.  We have a chunck of $$ coming in soon that will reduce the overall debt by about 32%.  My question is should I put the majority of the $$ against one account and alittle bit on all the rest or should I spilt it up more evenly? Would one way verses the other benifit our score more?  We are planning on refinancing our home (maybe as soon as this month) w/ the intention of a home improvement & consolidating our debt.  So I was hoping that paying down our current credit card debt would improve our FICO.  Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.  I just want to make the most of $$ we be getting. 
Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
SoulSmilen
Regular Contributor

Spread it out so that each revolving account will reflect...

Spread it out so that each revolving account will reflect below 30% utilization. With your hope of refinancing, I would pay each down to closer to around 20% util so you have a little cushion and leeway in the event a new purchase takes you back over the 30% line. If you can wait to refinance until AFTER these payments are reflected on your score, you should get a lower rate.
Message 2 of 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

Thanks so much for your advise.  We will never get down t...

Thanks so much for your advise.  We will never get down to 30% utilization with the larger limits but I can work the smaller ones down to that and put the rest of the $$ against the rest.

Thanks again.
Message 3 of 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

The general rule is no individual card above 50% and no m...

The general rule is no individual card above 50% and no more than 30-40% overall utilization.
Message 4 of 8
MM1234