Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Installment Credit Payoffs

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Installment Credit Payoffs

I had some bad credit in the past. It is currently getting better. I am selling a house an plan to use some of it to payoff a mortgage and a car loan. When you read about your FICO score it always just talks about reducing your credit card debt which I really have none. My current Fico Score is 720 and I haven't had a late payment in 6 years. I will make all my debt go away, but the FICO simulator doesn't take in effect installments paid off fast. For example I paid an extra $4000 on an car payment that monthly only requires $436 and I have been doubling that for a couple months and I didn't even get a point boost on my fico score. I will payoff $39000 of debt next month and I hope my score moves a great deal; but as I stated this is mostly installment debtnot revolving credit. I really want to get my FICO 760 points if at all possible before I purchase another house, tenatively next year. Anyone have any wisdom besides just time?
Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Installment Credit Payoffs

sounds like your lacking a blend on your credit report. Do you have any cc? If no you should shop for a good one for you and your situation this is a good time because you are a year out. Also paying the bills off and aging your accountsw will add some more. I know, but with fico patience really is key!
Message 2 of 6
Anonymous
Not applicable

I have 4 credit cards Master Card with a 14000 limit,Visa with a $6000, Discover Card with a $5000 limit and a Military Star Card with $7500 limit. My total debt on this cards is $1350 which is less then 5% of my max credit. I will pay that off with the house and the car next month.
Message 3 of 6
Anonymous
Not applicable