cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is FICO score same as Credit score?

tag
rodeogurl77

Is FICO score same as Credit score?

This may sound stupid, but I am new to all of this and I am wondering what the difference is between a FICO score and a credit score? If there is one!

TU-514 (7/26/2011)
EQ-575(7/26/2011)

GOAL 600's by 12/31/2011
Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
stan_the_man
Established Contributor

Re: Is FICO score same as Credit score?

@rodeogurl77 wrote:

This may sound stupid, but I am new to all of this and I am wondering what the difference is between a FICO score and a credit score? If there is one!

Fico is a credit score -- the most commonly used credit score. However, there are many other credit scores out there that we call Fakos on the board.

Most of the other credit score that credit monitoring services use are not used by a single lender (i.e. Plus score, TransRisk, Equifax Credit Score). Another Fako, the Vantage score, is used by a small number of lenders.

Unless the score you are sold online says Fico, it's not a Fico score.

Message 2 of 7
llecs
Moderator Emeritus

A FICO score is a credit score. I like analogies....it is just like saying "what is the difference between a Toyota and a car?". In this example, a Toyota is a brand of car just like FICO is a brand of a credit score. And because FICO basically started the credit scoring business, when we see a credit score, we all think it is a FICO score.