cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Newbie here. Confusing FICO scoring issue...

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Newbie here. Confusing FICO scoring issue...

About a year ago, my wife and refinanced our home, and at the time we both received our FICO score via the disclosure from our bank who handled the loan.  At the time, our scores were almost identical---hers was right at 785 while mine was 781.  Fast forward to just a few days ago, and we're going through the mortgage process again with the same bank (we sold that property and now are buying a new one).  Well, her new FICO score jumped up to 794, while mine actually decreased to 763.  Now, I know both scores are still considered excellent, but I'm a bit concerned that I'm going in wrong directon here, especially since our overall credit situation has greatly improved since that time.

I had roughly 12k in credit card debt back then, with a total credit line of around 45k. Over the past year, I had two changes overall---I paid all my credit cards off (my report now shows a combined CC debt accross 4 lines as just under 1k), while my revolving credit limit jumped to 55k.  Also, I took out a new car loan in November, for roughly 30k (I'm guessing this might be my issue.) On my report, it indeed states a "recent account opening is too short" as one of the negative factors going against me. However, another stated factor is "proportion of loan balances to loan amounts is too high." This I don't understand at all, as again my debt to credit limit is literally 1-2%. A final negative factor was that I have "too many accounts with balances," which is confusing since we're talking literally a few hundred dollars on a given line with a 20k limit.