Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Past balances and limits

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Past balances and limits

I’m still fairly new to credit and don’t fully understand how reporting works so this may be a dumb question,

My BCE card has a limit of $2k and right now $0 balance. ( I PIF)

I at one point did have it maxed out when taking advantage of the 0% intro.

HERES MY QUESTION. I want to move all but 500 to another AMEX card but I’m wondering if the fact that I’ve had a $2k balance on a now $500 card will show up and affect my score.

Message 1 of 10
9 REPLIES 9
AnimatorProcrastinator
Regular Contributor

Re: Past balances and limits

Will it affect your scores with the bureaus? No. Will it affect Amex's internal score of you? I would assume an underwriter would see this history as poor credit management. However, Amex's CLI's are (almost) always automated and I think it will look more at your score and whether you have any baddies. I am a newbie myself to Amex so I might be wrong. Someone with more experience will come along Smiley Happy

Message 2 of 10
jamesdwi
Valued Contributor

depending on income and other items on your report. You can request a 3x CLI on your 61st day with the card.  Since you plan to pay in full, you can also investigate AMEX's list of Charge cards,to see if any of them meet your needs, yes they have an AF most have a signing bonus usually cover those for the first year while you evaluate the card and grow your AMEX internal limit and your BCE credit limt, and it  will deffitely grow with you and are more likely to meet your credit limit, perhaps some day I will have a crazy enough month to figure out what my internal credit limit is.