Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Refinancing soon -- FICO score question

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Refinancing soon -- FICO score question

Ok so I'm brand new to myFICO -- has very useful information from what I can tell.  But my scores (especially my mortgage scores) were a little lower than I expected.  So I had some questions, but before I ask -- I realize my scores are still very good, but just want to verify some things before I start the refinancing process.

All those free credit-card scores were showing in 825-835 range, but on myFico it is showing (for the Mortgage scores) 796 Eqifax, 788 TransUnion, and 808 Experian.  They categorize them as "very good, very good, exceptional" -- do I need to get the "very goods" into the "exceptional" to get the best mortgage rate, or are these good enough?

If I do need to get them to exceptional (I'm assuming that's 800), is there anything I can do to quickly bump at least the 796 up into 800 range?  The factors it lists on my report are as follows:

• You opened a new credit account recently
    • I did open a personal loan in 11/2020 for $10,000 for home repairs, I have under $3,000 left on the loan.  Should I wait until after 11/2021 to apply for refinance?
  • You have too many credit accounts with balances
    • I have a mortgage, personal loan (above), and that's it -- I pay off my CC's immediately after charging.  Why too many balances?
  • You have a consumer finance account on your credit report
    • I think this is the personal loan from above.  Should I just pay this off?
  • You have a short credit history
    • I opened a a few credit cards in the past 2 years.  Should I close some of these to get my average years back up?
  • You have not established a long revolving and/or open-ended account credit history
    • Not sure why it says this, I have a CC's from 2005, 2008, and then 3 recent (2019, 2019, 2020).