Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Suddenly Keeping A Balance Effects

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Suddenly Keeping A Balance Effects

I currently have 60k available credit among my 10 credit cards. I normally let $500 report on my $10,000 limit discover. I had a medical emergency and have to keep a balance of $3,500 on my discover with the rest reporting $0 until I get my bonus in January when I can pay off the full balance. My average spend on discover is about $1,200 a month paid in full which I will continue to do with the $3,500 sitting there being paid down by about $200 a month until my bonus. My question because I've never carried a balance is how will effect my score having one card report a 30%+ balance for 4 months. All of my cards are 6months old or older so I dont believe it will cause any AA but I'm new to the whole carrying a balance thing. Any advice is appreciated from those who normally carry a somewhat large balance.
Message 1 of 11
10 REPLIES 10
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Suddenly Keeping A Balance Effects

You’ll be carrying a 5.8% balance for 3 months and chipping away at it and then paying it off. You’ll have a negligible, if any, effect on your scores, which won’t matter anyway. Don’t sweat it. Credit lines are there to be used, not just preserved like a classic Ferrari.
Message 2 of 11
HeavenOhio
Senior Contributor

The bottom line is that you're going to be fine.

Scoring based on your overall utilization is likely to be unaffected. You'll probably be dinged for your individual card utilization going over 28.9%. However, some report not being dinged until exceeding 48.9%.

Discover is going to be fine. They're extremely tolerant of people carrying balances with much higher utilization and over much longer periods than you're planning on. Your balance isn't going to be high enough for your other lenders to care about.

Message 3 of 11
Anonymous
Not applicable