cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

The hardest part about building up your credit? Taking the initial score hit.

tag
Jishosan
Established Member

The hardest part about building up your credit? Taking the initial score hit.

I'll admit, I've had a pretty good year, credit-wise. Through a combination of payments, negotiations, and on-time payments, I managed to raise my FICO score from 589 to 700 in exactly 12 months. At the same time, one glaring negative continued to haunt my credit profile: I had terrible amounts of credit available to me. I've been sitting at $3300 in available credit for over 5 years. I knew from my reading that the amount of credit, within reason, that other lenders extend to you can be a warning or welcome sign when attempting to obtain new credit, so I decided to do something about it.

Enter the app spree. And app spree I did. I chose a small group of core cards, and with only a single odd exception, I got them all. SO, my available credit went from $3300 to $14100. Since then, my scorewatch has done something of a rollercoaster.

First, the inquiries. THey hurt. My score started dropping bit by bit as each new inquiry hit my report. Ouch.

Then something odd happened. The first new account reported my available balance within days of receiving the card. Suddenly, my utilization dropped like a rock, and my credit score shot up! 722! Wow!

Then the other accounts hit. Suddenly, FICO was not so sure it liked me quadrupling my available credit in a small amount of time. Oh, you've decided to get a new car as well? Down some more!