Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unsure...

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Unsure...

Hey Everyone,

I'm new to myFico. I joined to understand and get a grip on my credit score and future. 

Growing up, I was never taught about credit or finanacing because my mother herself was horrible at it. From there I never really fully understood. I'm open to all suggestions and appreciate all help.

About me:

I have a score of 560.

Three credit cards, I usually use them to buy things and pay more than the minimum. 

1 Chase, and 2 Capital One

I have 4 inquiries of credit because one is Chase and the other is Capital One. (I know those will fall off in 2 years)

Ultimately is there anything I can do short term to increase the score besides low utilization?

Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Unsure...

Welcome to the board.  You have taken a good step by joining the board and asking a question.  To begin and get better responses, how old is your credit file? Is your credit score a FICO or a FAKO?

Do you have any negatives on your credit file?  Why is your score so low?

Message 2 of 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

Thank you for the quick response.

I had a secured credit card for about 3 years when  I decided it was time to have more credit standings. I applied for a Best Buy CC (mistake now, understanding APR), Chase Freedom (which I got), and a Capital One Quiksilver card (which i got as well.)

What I didn't understand was that it takes my credit history down with each card...so what was 3 years is now 1 year and 3 months.

Secondly, I lost my job 2 years ago and had to give back my car I was paying monthly on. They were able to get what it was worth so I didn't owe anything, but it looks bad on my account.

I was 640 4 months ago, but because of the inquiries and credit history has dropped it.

I got my credit score from Credit Karma, and annual credit report.