cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DTI QUESTIONS AND HOW TO PURCHASE HOME FROM FAMILY MEMBER WITH GIFT EQUITY....

tag
liandur
Valued Member

DTI QUESTIONS AND HOW TO PURCHASE HOME FROM FAMILY MEMBER WITH GIFT EQUITY....

My Fico's all range from 700-750. I have no negatives-lates, collections, etc. Have been with same employer for 4 yrs/16 yrs in field. I work in a restaurant-tipped employment. 2012 income around 20K, 2013 around 29K. I pay child support for my 17 yr old $122 a month. I am a student but have no student loans or other loans to figure in. Property taxes on home around $2600 yearly. Insurance will be right around $70 monthly.

I have several credit cards that have 0 balances but report minimum payment on myfico reports---will those have to be factored into DTI? or just those with balances?

My daughter owns the house I am wanting to purchase. There is no mortgage loan on it. She owns it outright. Our counties website (greene county ohio) has it valued at $106K. I doubt that it would actually appraise at that because our county seems to overvalue things! LOL but....

My daughter is willing to sell it to me for 70K. I live here now and have for the last 4 months. I am told I can use Gift of Equity as downpayment.

What all will I need to make this happen? reserves, downpayment, closing costs?

And how does this work using gift of equity? I am told I need a purchase contract first? Should contract price be set at the 70K or closer to what it should appraise for like maybe 90K? And then a letter gifting the equity?

One loan officer I spoke with told me that I need nothing to make a purchase using gift equity--that everything including downpayment, closing costs,etc can all be rolled into the gifted equity. Just Sounded way too good to be true!

I just want to be prepared when I start the process sometime in the first few months of the new year. Thank you!

Message 1 of 14
13 REPLIES 13
themizlyne
Regular Contributor