Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Navy Federal Auto Refi Question

tag
CreditOnTheRise1
New Contributor

Navy Federal Auto Refi Question

Hello! I have a auto loan with NFCU that will hit 1 year in May. All on-time payments. The rate is currently 9% on a 2017 Jaguar F-Pace S Sport AWD. The loan was originally $40k with no down payment and now sits at $36k as of the close of the Feb 2022 statement. When I app'd in 5/2021, my score was a 616. I want to refi in May but this is my first time ever doing it. I also have 3 cards with NFCU over the last 3 years, exceptional payment history and credit limits growing. I make about $130k every year with all deposits going to NFCU accounts. My scores took a hit recently due to high balances on cards, but I'm in the mid 620s. What does navy consider when requesting a refi? I also was wondering if I should throw a few grand towards my car balance before app'ing? I have about $3k that I could use. Right now the trade in value is $36k-38k. But I'm really trying to get the rate down to 4-5%. Any advice on the shape I'm in? Go for it now in May? Or wait until my scores increase and the loan decreases?

8 REPLIES 8
RASULL12
Contributor

Re: Navy Federal Auto Refi Question

You would need to use a different bank to refinance sine you can't refinance a loan with the same bank as the current loan.

Message 2 of 9
CreditOnTheRise1
New Contributor

@RASULL12 wrote:

You would need to use a different bank to refinance sine you can't refinance a loan with the same bank as the current loan.

Oh man Really? I could have sworn when I picked up my check the advisor said I could refi in 1 year for a lower rate. I'm gonna be completely broken if that's the case. I don't want to move the loan away from NFCU right now. Thanks for the tip. I'm gonna call and ask. 

Message 3 of 9
pizzadude
Credit Mentor

No harm in calling them but I've also never heard of a creditor that will refinance their own auto loan.