Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

My Interesting BK Journey

tag
arealswellgirl
Valued Member

My Interesting BK Journey

Hi Everyone,

I've been getting advice from all you wonderful people over two years now and thought I'd share my story so maybe I can help others as well. I know BK topics are common, but I do think my situation is somewhat unique from what I've been told. It's a little long but I really just want to help anyone I can just like I was helped out Smiley Happy

I graduated with an M.S. during the recession and lived on credit cards for 2 years until I found a job in early 2013. My husband was making $35k at the time (which required an M.A....which is B.S. lol) and I started making $44k. We both changed jobs at the end of 2013 and were making $90k combined at that point. To be honest, we were terrible with our money, but made an aggessive plan to pay off the balances we accrued from 2010-2013. Then 6 months later I was fired, but found a similar paying job 4 months later and a month into that job we were able to buy our first home! Then 5 months after starting that job, I was laid off due to restructuring :-/ I wasn't able to find a job until 10 months later, and at that point it was too late. We liquidated our 401ks to make all our credit card payments and finally just ran out of money. We filed chapter 7 the day before I was to start my new job on 10/5/15 (otherwise we didn't qualify for ch7 if I had income). Our combined income with my new job was slightly over $100k. We also had $175k in student loans at the time (which are now close to $250k) which were not included in bk. Here's my timeline for recovery. Fwiw, I had 100% on-time payments before bankruptcy, no lates and my score was in the low 600s. Post bk I also have 100% payment history. Current average account age is 9 years and 9 months and oldest is 18 years.

-Filed 10/4/2015
-IIB (for both of us):