Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Should I File? (Chapter 7)

tag
mysterythemoon
Regular Contributor

Should I File? (Chapter 7)

Hello. These last few years have been a whirlwind. I think I fell into the trap many here probably stepped in at some point. I work in sales. Was pulling in 70ish a year, easily making bills, ect. Then the last couple years happened. Company downsized, commissions were cut in half, bills started to creep up. I figured the next year would be better. It wasn't. And as I watched my debt grow, I became dispondent. But I was still making my bills, if only the minimum payments. But I was teetering, all the while knowing if anything major came up, I'd go over the cliff. Well my dog got very sick, vet bill ran up, and over the cliff I went. A couple 30 day lates on my credit report now. Never had that before. So here's where I stand:

34 years old. Single. No kids. I rent a condo. Live in CA. 

Debt: $46,000 ($1,400 per month in minimums & all unsecured CC), $11,000 (car through PenFed)

Cards I have: Amex Blue, Hilton, Bonvoy, BofA, Cap 1, Cap 1 QS, Disco, Chase Sapphire, Barclays, 2 NFCU, 2 Citi, WF Propel.

So I have two paths as I see it. Either cut bait right now or find a way to pay it off. I'm at the point where I'm willing to get a second job on the weekends. If I did that, I think I could pay it off in 4-6 years. But the amount I'm going to pay off in the end is obviously going to be closer to 100k than what I owe presently. Long story short, what should I do. I'm going to get the second job anyway. Would it be better to take the money from that and attack this debt, or am I deliusional and I should take the money I *could* use to pay off this debt and instead start a savings / rainy day account?