Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Amex Delta Gold Advice?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Amex Delta Gold Advice?

Hi everyone, this is my first time posting a question on the myFICO forums.

I wanted some advice about applying for the AMEX Delta Gold Card.

I currently have 6 inquiries this year, with 4 cards being opened total, all in 2019

Cap One Quicksilver, upgraded from Platinum ($750) in April, Discover it Chrome ($2700) in September, Amazon store card ($1500) in October, and the Chase Freedom Unlimited ($1000) in November.

My oldest line is with Nordstrom ($2000) in June 2017, and my little credit union card ($1000) in July '17.

My current utilization is at 11% without the Freedom card being reported, so realistically its around 8-9%

The bad stuff is 2 missed payments, dec '17 and jan '18 on my Nordstrom card. Keep in mind this is when I was a complete moron and had no idea how to manage my credit. 

I am currently Preapproved/prequaled for the AMEX Delta Gold, Everyday, and Cash Magnet

My current scores are EXP-684, EQ-705, and TU-712 and my income is about 36k per year.

Should I go for my first AMEX card, even with that many inquiries this year?

Thank you!

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
simplynoir
Community Leader
Mega Contributor

Re: Amex Delta Gold Advice?

Hi and welcome to the forums, @Anonymous 

I believe the inquiries will not be an issue for your app as so much the recent approvals. With that said I think you can be approved for their Delta Gold card since it has looser UW but the terms/CL may not be the best. If that is not an issue and prequals are showing solid APRs then you should be fine. I would strongly recommend you wait a bit to let your new accounts age to better your chances

Good luck on whatever you decide!

Message 2 of 5
Anonymous
Not applicable