Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Citibank Preferred CLI Denial

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Citibank Preferred CLI Denial

Hello, I’m a newbie and I have a question. I first got my Citi back in 2017 with a SL of $2K. I requested an increase after 90 days and it now sits at $3K. I have been getting promotional emails and pop ups from Citi inviting me to request for CLI. I’m a 20 yr old pre-Med student with an income of $22K. Back in Dec, I used my cards to the max for points and did not pay it 4 days before my statements cut (as instructed by my parents) which then reported a high balance. My score plummeted from 750’ish-576. Live and learn and never again.
My score is now climbing back up, 718 in Feb accdg to Citibank’s website and 738 according to Equifax. I’m sure this month will see another increase after all my cards report. I have a total CL of $15,500 with UTI of less than 1%.
So I hit the luv button on March 1st and instant denial. The reason given to me was a low score and it was the Jan one. They still keep sending me emails inviting me to apply for CLI so stupid me tried it again and another denial. Score from Jan (Equifax) was cited as the reason. Should I wait to request one in May? Regarding AMEX, the scores shown seem to be behind as well. Do you recommend I ask for CLI in May as well when my score hits above 740? Thank you in advance.

AAOA -16 months
Amex Delta Blue -$6200 SL $3100 (CLI after 4 months)
AMEX SPG - $2000
AMEX BCE - $2800
AMEX Clear - $1000
Citibank - $3000
Alaska - $500

Using my iPhone so please excuse any typos.
Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
FinStar
Moderator Emeritus

Re: Citibank Preferred CLI Denial

IMO, I would wait until the score information is updated since it appears an older score and profile evaluation was used. On the upside, no HP and it doesn't reset the clock. Give it sometime for things to stabilize.

Also, out of curiosity, what is the source of the score you provided?
Message 2 of 6
Anonymous