Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Declined, Want to Apply for Different Card

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Declined, Want to Apply for Different Card

Hi,

I am a new college grad (21 years old) and recently (and probably foolishly) applied for the United Chase card, and was declined. Credit score in 680s with a student loan (completely paid off) as my only source of credit information. Called recon and was told that the reason for declining me was too few accounts, which is completely reasonable. 

Anyways, got me thinking that I need to open some credit card and start building different kinds of credit. Don't plan on buying a car or house anytime soon. I was looking at the Discover It card and was wondering if it would be okay for me to apply for this card now, being that I was just declined for the United one, and what my chances are?

As previously stated, credit in 680 range for all 3, no bad marks or anything (sorry don't know all the terms yet), and just that one student loan. Also was an authorized user on my dad's credit card a few years ago when we went on an international vacation.

Thanks for the help!

Message 1 of 21
20 REPLIES 20
Gmood1
Super Contributor

Re: Declined, Want to Apply for Different Card

Setup a $500 SSL through Alliant FCU. It will do wonders for your credit!
http://ficoforums.myfico.com/t5/Understanding-FICO-Scoring/Adding-an-installment-loan-the-Share-Secu...

From there look at Discover and Amex. Both are thin file friendly.

Message 2 of 21
CreditInspired
Community Leader
Super Contributor

Welcome to MyFICO soyboy

Check out the prequalify pages first to see if you have any offers. Below is the link for Discover and CapitalOne:

https://www.discovercard.com/application/fmo?execution=e1s1

https://findmycard.capitalone.com/en/PageVersions/LandingPages/LP_ONE_V01.aspx?external_id=WWW_WP647...

GL to you.