Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Difficulty getting a card

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Difficulty getting a card

Hello,

I am currently a college student and relatively new to building credit. I turned 18 in July. 

As I was uninformed I applied for 3 cards pretty much as soon as I turned 18, resulting in three HPs and denied on all due to lack of history. 

I'm an AU on an Amex w/ a 16k limit. Utilization is currently reporting at 52% but will update today (to <1%)

A month after I turned 18 I applied for an auto loan w/ a cosigner for $12,200 and was approved, that will appear on my credit report next month. I live alone but the house is paid for and I do not have a mortgage/rent, utilities are in my name though. 

Current scores (according to CK):

- TU/Equifax 681 

AAoA: 8 months

Hard Inquiries:

- EF 10

- TU 4

No missed payments

Now despite this I am having a pretty difficult time opening up a credit card. I tried appling for Discover Student It and was denied, also applied for AMEX Blue Cash and was denied. 4 HPs were from my auto loan, 2 from comcast, others from CC.

I decided to apply for the Capital One secured and it is under review, looks like it will be approved.

What do I do? Just hang tight with the AU/Car loan and secured card if I get it? I would eventually like to upgrade to an unsecured that offers rewards. It's incredibly frustrating and feels like I'm swimming against the tide.

Thanks!

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Difficulty getting a card