Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Getting in with Amex?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Getting in with Amex?

Hi Guys, 

I wanted to ask for some advice on the best gameplan for me to get in the door with Amex, which I'd like to accomplish by the end of 2015. I'm very new to credit, AAoA is 5 months with my oldest at 9 months (BoA in sig) and newest 2 accounts at 3 months old. So far I've been able to PIF on all 3 cards every month since I got them, maintaining below 10% usage when the statement cut on all. I have been attempting to use them all as much as possible, I make less than $35k/year at the moment so I obviously can't be running up crazy charges and expect to PIF. 

-The BofA card is the $99/500 secured card, opened September 2014. 

-Cap1 QS1 was originally a $500 limit, requested a CLI this week after the third statement cut and got it to $1,500.

-Discover it was $1,000 limit, requested CLI after third statement cut and went to $1,500 as well. 

I was thinking the best course of action would be to keep up what I'm doing with the cards I have and hope the BofA card graduates soon. The 1 year with the BofA card will coincide with 6 months from opening the other two, will that help with the inquiries? I have no loans of any kind, so my only credit experience is with the three cards I have. 

Knowing all of this, what should I go for? What does Amex look for? I'm mostly concerned that my lack of credit experience will mean an instant denial from them. Thank you all in advanced for your help, these forums have given me the confidence to do what I've accomplished so far. 

Message 1 of 41
40 REPLIES 40
OmarGB9
Community Leader
Super Contributor

Re: Getting in with Amex?