cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Woo Hoo !!!! Reached my Capital 1/QS CLI Goal!

tag
Aim_High
Super Contributor

Woo Hoo !!!! Reached my Capital 1/QS CLI Goal!

I've been working my Capital One card for higher limits for MANY years.  For those of you with Capital One, you know how that goes.  It's like watching paint dry to get CLI's with them, but I was determined.

But tonight ... Woooo Hoooo !!!! 

Final $3K CLI to bring my CL to $25,000Smiley Very Happy

And that card started at only $1K!

A little history.  My card started out as a Capital One Platinum Visa on 03/03/2009, so just turned 11 years old.  Back then, I was carrying huge five-figure debts and was planning to use it for a BT offer.  I was shocked and insulted with the super-low $1K SL, which was well below the $5K or better on my other cards.  And it was essentially useless for my BT intention, so I sock-drawered it.  A few years later, after the Quicksilver card came out, I PC'd the Platinum to QS and began to work on growing it while taking advantage of the (at the time industry-leading) 1.5% cash back.  Even with use, I was frustrated it only grew $1K or $1.5K at a time, eventually reaching $3K CLIs before that became the best I ever got.

Along the way, I learned the Capital One Credit Line Increase "rules".  

* You get no more than one increase every six months.  (The clock starts when you get an increase, not when you request it. So you can hit the "luv" button all want.  I didn't always push for another increase every six months, but I probably should have set a reminder.)

* All CLI's are automated, requested online.  There is no one in underwriting to talk to or appeal to.

* The good news: All CLI requests are soft pulls. 

* Expect small increases.  $1K to $3K seems common, regardless of usage.

* You will *ONLY* get an increase on a card you've been using regularly, usually for at least 3-4 months immediately prior to the request.