Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

18 and Clean, Thin File

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

18 and Clean, Thin File

Hi Everyone,

This is my first time posting on this forum; however, I have been reading up for the past few months. I just turned 18 in October of 2016 and decided, as a legal adult in many instances, I should start building credit now for the future. I have a full time job and make a very decent salary, so I wanted to take my finances in my own hands by opening a brokerage account, Roth IRA, and 401(k) with my company. 

So, a few days after my birthday, I went into my local Chase bank in Manhattan and spoke with my banker about getting my first credit card. She suggested I apply for the Freedom Unlimited, which we both said at the same time, as I had already done my research Smiley Very Happy. So, I applied in branch and a few days later recieved a meager $500 credit limit. Still, better than nothing!

Fast forward two months later, I am planning a vacation and the plane ticket I would like to purchase is $509 with tax Smiley Frustrated. So, I figured, why not go in and see if an increase could be arranged. I had paid my card off religiously with heavy usage, letting both months report at $35 or 7%. I also spent over $2500 in those two months, 5x my limit. My banker said it was a good idea and that I should give it a shot. She handed the phone to me to speak with the CSR and I was instantly denied. We then called the recon line and again, denied. Looking back on it, I realize it was silly to ask w/o at least 6 months, let alone a year with Chase. So my banker (who also happens to be a Private Banker, but I am not a Private Client) whispered to me that I should run up the street to Captial One and apply for one of their cards ASAP.