Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Amex Platinum Preset Spending Limit Added

tag
dirknights
Valued Member

Amex Platinum Preset Spending Limit Added

I am a bit of a noob in regards to cards. I recently used my Platnium at a business that I am affiliated with. I didn't know that was a no-no. It was going to a Tesla downpayment. So Amex sent me a letter stating that they added a limit to my account. I was just wondering how long does it take to get this limit removed again? Anything that I should focus on (other than not using my card at an affiliated business)? I have two cards with Amex, the other is the Delta Reserve.

26 REPLIES 26
tparks5961
Regular Contributor

Re: Amex Platinum Preset Spending Limit Added

Up to 1 year.  My account had a limit placed on it due to entering into a payment plan during Covid.

My year is up tomorrow 12/7.. 

I think any Adverse action and depending on the offense, can restrict your account for up to a year.

The most important thing I've learned about amex.. is no matter how much you spend... they don't need my business and could care less if I closed the account. 

Good luck.. 

Last Inquiry 12/23/2022 Ally Bank Mortgage
Fico Score Progression: 10/1/2018 EQ 530 TU 535 EX 540 | 1/10/2023 EQ 785 TU 789 EX 787
Message 2 of 27
pizzadude
Credit Mentor

I'm not sure there's a specific timeframe if you tripped some internal AMEX risk algorithm, did their letter ask you to provide any financial documentation or other info?

March2010 FICO® ~ 695 TU, 653 EQ, 697 EX
Message 3 of 27
dirknights
Valued Member

It did not. I also called to offer up my financial info for review, but it was no dice. Here's the letter: