Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Balance Transfer Card Question

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Balance Transfer Card Question

Hello,

I am really new to all this and I have been learning a lot by lurking on these forms, so I'm not sure if this goes here or in Rebuilding Credit. Please let me know if I need to move this. I am currently trying to clean up my credit score after being an idiot. I want to find a card to do a BT of $3095 from my CapitalOne Card. My hope is to get this amount down to 1k before the 0% APR runs out.

I am waiting until April/May to apply because my credit score will go from a 687 to about a 710 due to me paying off my Chase card in Febuary/March. I don't know what a good card to choose would be or if I should continue to wait or not.

Card I have:
Chase: Limit of $2K current amount on it: $1702 Paid off around the end of Feb/beginning of March
CapitalOne: Limit of $3.3K current amount on it: $3292. Hoping to get down to $3k before BT
CareCredit: Limit of $7.2K current amount on it: $2225 (fixed promo balance won't transfer)
Cabelas/Cap1: Limit $2k Current amount: $0
Kohls/Cap1: Limit 6K Current amount $0

Also I don't know if loans count against me, but I currently have consolidated all my student loans into 1 loan in forbarance right now for: $50.2K

Message 1 of 18
17 REPLIES 17
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Balance Transfer Card Question

You currently have 2 cards that are maxed out, and they very well could hinder any approvals for a BT card. Not sure what else is on your report such as any baddies etc.

With that being said, I would try the Discover pre-qual. They typically offer 12 to 18 month BT. 

Good luck! 

Message 2 of 18
Anonymous
Not applicable

@Anonymous wrote:

You currently have 2 cards that are maxed out, and they very well could hinder any approvals for a BT card. Not sure what else is on your report such as any baddies etc.