cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help understanding credit cards & the best way to use them

tag
oneirix

Help understanding credit cards & the best way to use them

Hey all! I'm new to the credit card thing (just got my REI Visa in February) and I'm hearing conflicting advice over the best way to use a credit card in order to build credit (plus, I don't understand much of the language surrounding credit and credit usage). I'd like to hear some definitive counsel on how to use a credit card most responsibly and most beneficially to my credit score. My specific questions are:

1. What does it mean to "carry a balance"? Is it a good or bad thing to not entirely pay off a credit card balance when it's due? Some people say to leave like, $10 on, let that accrue interest, and then pay it off next time.
  2. Should I pay off my entire credit card balance before it's due (or by the due date), or should I just pay the recorded balance due? For example, say I have a bill due on 4/10 for a balance accrued from 2/23-3/15 for $150. However since then, I've continued to use my card so now the balance is $230. Should I pay $230, or just $150?
  3. What is credit utilization? When someone says to keep your credit utilization below 9%, what does that mean?
  4. When a bill comes around for a credit card, does that mean that amount needs to be paid down no matter what? Is it best to have an account balance of $0 on the bill due date? Using the previous example, say I have a bill due on 4/10 for $150 with a full balance of $230. I pay off the entire $230 two weeks before the bill is due. Since then, I've accrued a balance of $200. Do I have to pay $150 again on 4/10?
  5. With regular, responsible usage of a single credit card and no outstanding loans or any other types of credit, how much can one expect one's credit score to increase in one year?