Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How long to wait before requesting CLI from Discover

tag
krislee
Valued Member

How long to wait before requesting CLI from Discover

I was approved for my Discover It card in February with a limit of $2500. I wanted to take advanage of the zero apr till next April and pay my rent with the card. I'm a college student with no income but my credit score isn't bad. I don't know what my fico score is because I recently got a new social and myfico is telling me I need at least 6months history for the number. This is what creditkarama is telling me though:

Credit Score: 772

UTIL: 2%

Total account: 6 (but only 5 are active)

INQ: 3

Total Limit: 19K

My rent is pretty high and I just don't have the funds to pay it in full right now. I've never been late with my payments and have always paid in full. When can I ask for a CLI and should I call or just do it online?

EDIT: I called CS and he said I had to wait 5 more months. Maybe I'm blind but I can't find the delete button. If there is one please let me know. 

Message 1 of 18
17 REPLIES 17
namvet
Established Contributor

Re: How long to wait before requesting CLI from Discover

Discover increased my limit at the end of the 5th month.  YMMV on this but i would wait at least 6 months before asking for a CLI.  Mine was automatic.

Message 2 of 18
myjourney
Super Contributor

6 month and 12 month marks for CLI  on discover

Before you app think...
Have you done your research of the CC?
Does it fit your spending?
Do you have a plan for the bonus w/o going into debt?
Can you afford the AF?
Do you know the cards benefits? Is it worth the HP?
Message 3 of 18
mr_postman
Regular Contributor

opened mine 6 months ago with 1k limit today i asked for increase and was instant denied told them to close my account. 1k compare to my other cards I just discovered they dont like me

Message 4 of 18
armbenderc
Valued Contributor