cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Should I stockpile points without a specific use in mind? (Marriott Bonvoy)

tag
B_Slow1
New Contributor

Should I stockpile points without a specific use in mind? (Marriott Bonvoy)

I appreciate the advice from everyone here. I'm pretty new to points/rewards. Currently, I only have one points-earning credit card (Chase Ink Cash), which fits well into my business spend, so it's been easy to accumulate points quickly. I don't have the opportunity to travel much right now, but the idea of aspirational travel appealed to me, and I wanted to help myself toward that goal.

So I was looking at acquiring the Marriott Bonvoy Business card (100k SUB/ $5k spend), since they recently bumped up the bonus. But I currently have no concrete plans to use these 100k Marriott points. Taking into account these "Once in a Lifetime" Amex rules, and the "One Bonvoy Card at a Time" rule that seems to be in place, I figured this would be a good place to start with earning hotel points.

But is this a bad approach to aquiring points/rewards? Is it a poor decision to be accumulating points (primarily thru SUBs) that I don't have a specific use for? Thanks for the input.

Message 1 of 21
20 REPLIES 20
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Should I stockpile points without a specific use in mind? (Marriott Bonvoy)

There is nothing wrong with it. Problem with points game, is they devalue all the time. If you want to use the points for aspirational travel project, its best the project will happen in the next 1-3 years rather than 5-10 years later.

Message 2 of 21
kdm31091
Super Contributor

The issue with stockpiling points is that if the bank decides to close your account for whatever reason, you are usually SOL with regards to points and they will be lost. With a case like a hotel card, I don't know if that applies because the points are already in your Bonvoy account.