Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

how to use cards in Mexico?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

how to use cards in Mexico?

So im traveling to Mexico the first week of November. This is my first time over seas and im super excited. 

I just got my passport in the mail just in time Smiley Happy

1) I put a travel notification on my CSP. Should I use this car everywhere? Do they accept it at most shops and taxis?

2) Im only going for 5 days and my bank (navy federal) wont exchange money for me before I leave. Should i order pesos from my other bank before I leave ($40 for tips and taxie tips)? I hear there are fees at the resort atms...

3) Does Cozemel MX use chip and pin technology?

Thanks!

Message 1 of 20
19 REPLIES 19
Cmikul
Regular Contributor

Re: how to use cards in Mexico?

1. Use your card sparingly off the resort.  Shops will take it no problem.  Taxi's are mostly cash.

2. Peso's won't help much and just confuse YOU.  Everyone takes $ and they actually prefer it most places.

3. Most likely no....most places have the old small swipe machines.

Have fun.....

Message 2 of 20
thelethargicage
Valued Contributor

Having grown up in Latin America, all I can say is, be extremely careful.

Message 3 of 20
victornewman
Contributor

@Cmikul wrote:

1. Use your card sparingly off the resort.  Shops will take it no problem.  Taxi's are mostly cash.

2. Peso's won't help much and just confuse YOU.  Everyone takes $ and they actually prefer it most places.

Have fun.....

This is great (and very accurate) advice.  I have vacationed a lot in Mexico and I use my credit card only at the resort and cash everywhere else.  I always bring a stack of small bills with me for tips, etc. 

Message 4 of 20
-Cal-
Valued Contributor

@Cmikul wrote:

Have fun.....

This ^ 

Message 5 of 20
Anonymous
Not applicable

How much cash should I bring?

The resort is all inclusive? I dont think Ill spend too much? IDK

Message 6 of 20
Anonymous
Not applicable