Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Beginner looking for advice on credit gardening

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Beginner looking for advice on credit gardening

Hey all,

Just found out this forum existed and it's perfect for what I'm looking for! I'm a college student looking to build up my credit as fast as I can and as hard as I can, so I applied for my first card in January 2019, a few months after I turned 18, with my first paycheck from my job at college. Since then, I've built myself up to these scores:

Transunion: 654, 9 hard inquiries

Equifax: 648, 5 hard inquiries

Experian: 707, 14 hard inquiries (credit usage on this one is down to 9%)

FICO 8: 659 / 673 depending where I look, 3 hard inquiries 

0 derogatory marks across the board, 10 months average age of history

(Reason why I'm in the 600s is because I made a large purchase for a club at school ($1800) so my utilization is through the roof. I predict that I'll shoot back up to the low 700s when my credit usage goes down in a week or two - I've paid that purchase off in full two weeks ago.)

Credit Cards:

Discover It: CL of $2000 (up from secured @ $@ 22.99%, was my first secured card @ $200 CL, opened 1/2019

Capital One Journey Student: CL of $600 (up from $500) @ 24.73%, second card, opened 3/2019

Fingerhut: CL of $300 @ 29.99%, first store card I opened, opened 6/2019

PayPal Credit: CL of $1000 (up from $500) @ 25.49%, first credit account I opened, opened 7/2019

AmEx Delta Gold: CL of $1000 @ 24.74%, my first "big boy" card, opened 4/2020

Dick's ScoreRewards MasterCard: CL and % unknown until I get it, I accidentally opened this, opened 4/2020, probably closing soon

Electronic Express Store Card: CL unknown until I get it, I accidentally opened this, opened 4/2020, probably closing soon

TOTAL CL: $4900, maybe $6900 when I get the last two

Open Loans (which I'll likely pay off in full early):