Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Loan Modification

tag
want2b_800s
Contributor

Loan Modification

Does anyone know how a loan modification will report on CR? I've seen lots of talk about that on the many credit boards, but I haven't seen any mention of how it is reported. Is is like a short-sale or foreclosure?

Does anyone know????

Thanks

Sorry if I put this in the wrong place.
Smiley Happy
Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Loan Modification

I know that if you are behind on your mortgage now, while awaiting the approval of a home mod, the mtg co will report you as late.

As far as when the mod is approved, I do not believe that it is reported any different.

What I mean is that once you start making your new payments on time it should report paid as agreed. 

I'm not an expert, but it seems to me that it is basically the same as if you were to refinance your mortgage.  Your cr would only show the new mortgage co (or same one) but it would not state that is was a re-fi mtg.  I hope this makes sense?  Maybe one of the experts can be of help?
Message 2 of 9
Anonymous
Not applicable

Resource Guide for detailed reporting guidelines.

Renegotiated Mortgages:

There are three options for reporting a renegotiated (refinanced) mortgage:

If the original Account Number and Date Opened are retained, modify the amounts and terms as per the renegotiated/refinanced agreement. Fields that may be changed include Original Loan Amount, Terms Duration, Terms Frequency, Scheduled Monthly Payment Amount and Current Balance. A notation that the loan has been renegotiated/refinanced is not needed.

If the original Account Number changes and the Date Opened remains the same, follow the above reporting guideline, and include an L1 Segment with the new Account Number. Refer to the L1 Segment specifications within the Field

Definitions in the Credit Reporting Resource Guide for reporting guidelines.