cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Score dropped 28 points! (here's why...but why did this happen??)

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Score dropped 28 points! (here's why...but why did this happen??)

I noticed that my score dropped yesterday 28 points on Transunion!!! (I have a subscription to MYFICO to keep up with it)
TU only, no other drops on the other two.

My scores are 814, 804 and now 790.  (was 818) 

28 points is crazy.

And out of the blue with no rhyme or reason that I could tell. So I looked a little deeper. 

It appears that I had an old account with a credit union that has been paid off for quite a while but all 3 agencies were still reporting it.

Well, as of June's report, it is gone from TU. They dropped it or something. The other 2 are still showing it. 
So now I know why my score dropped so much but wow.

Why would it suddenly drop off of my report from TU?? I didn't ask to have it removed. 
We are starting the house buying process within weeks and now my score dropped 28 points for something like this??

What can I do? Anything? 

Message 1 of 64
63 REPLIES 63
Jnbmom
Credit Mentor

Re: Score dropped 28 points! (here's why...but why did this happen??)

How "old" was the account? Accounts can stay on reports up to 10 years, if that time has surpassed it might have just dropped off. Not much you can do though.

EXP 780 EQ 791TU 795
Message 2 of 64
Anonymous
Not applicable

The last report date was 2010 on that one. Bummer! 

Does that rebound pretty quickly or do my other accounts just need to continue to age?  (as in slowly but surely?)

Message 3 of 64
Anonymous
Not applicable

It's just a time issue to recover some points.  If you have some balances somewhere you could prop it up a bit for vanity but, if you're looking to score a large Loan anything over 760 doesn't make much difference.

Message 4 of 64
Revelate
Moderator Emeritus

Hey Niela,