cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

[Update] UTI 9% --> 10% = 9 point drop. But what is 10%?

tag
iv
Valued Contributor

Re: 9% UTI --> 10% UTI = 9 point drop. But what is 10%?

@Anonymous wrote:

Your reply, which is perfectly correct,  reminds me so much of a COBOL programmer I once worked with! That's a compliment, no matter what these Node.js and Python whippersnappers might say!

Heh.  I'll take it!

My first formal programming instruction (vs all the self-taught bits) was Scheme... followed by VAX assembly.  Gives an ...interesting perspective.

DIdn't end up as a programmer... sysadmin instead.  When I'm not wrangling bureaucrats, I make a bunch of other people's code play nice together in my sandboxes.

EQ8:850 TU8:850 EX8:850
EQ9:847 TU9:847 EX9:839
EQ5:797 TU4:807 EX2:813 - 2021-06-06
Message 31 of 59
iv
Valued Contributor

@Anonymous wrote:

That's a really good point about that inquiry data. On January 23rd, I got a myFICO alert that my TU score went up +4 points. January 23, 2018 is the date of one of my inquires which shows at TU only. 

I know it's always possible that something else could have changed, but what a coincidence!

Yeah, the impact of inquiries dropping off at exactly 1 year to the day is, I believe, completely proven at this point.

You may not always see an impact from it (due to other activity on the reports, or due to having multiple inquiries - as there does appear to be a step function involved), but it always stops counting at exactly 1 year.  (Not sure about leap year effects, not that it matters much.)

Message 32 of 59
iv
Valued Contributor

@Anonymous wrote:

Do we at least agree that 0, 10, 30, 50, 70, and 90 are the percentage thresholds that FICO is using internally for comparison, after any method of rounding?

With the caveat that I believe it's more like 0 < a < 9 < b < 29 < c < 49 < d < 69 < e < 89 < f straight thresholds vs any actual rounding?