Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Question About Experian FICO Re: Credit Cards

tag
elboullee
Regular Contributor

Question About Experian FICO Re: Credit Cards

Haven't exprienced anything like this before, any thoughts and ideas are appreciated.

Last week I got an email alert from Experian saying that my FICO8 score had dropped 35 points - from a 755 to a 720!

I immediately login to check and of course there are no explanations, just general sugestions for why a drop may happen, none of which apply to me. I then check my TU and EQ and both are steady at 760 and 754 respectively.

I have been gardening for a little over six months now. No new credit of any kind. Utilization <1%. Never carry a balance, no lates, no missed payments, ever. No BKs, no foreclosures, etc. The only activity of any kind on my three CB reports was Discover giving me an auto $1000 CLI.

I have been pulling my hair out over this. The only thing that I can possibly see causing this is perhpas a result of using Experian Boost. I noticed on my Experian dashboard that it shows "balances" of several hundred $s. When I drill down, I see that this is just my normal monthly mobile bill, cable/internet bill, streaming subscriptions, and storage space - all bills that are upcoming, not even billed yet, let alone due. Could Experian be considering this as utlilization? Regardless, as I am [was?] knocking on the door of 800s, I no longer see any advantage to continuing to use Boost, so I disconnected all of that.

But even if that was the case, a 35-point drop for going from <1% to 8% or 9% untilization seems overly punative.

Any thoughts or ideas would be appreciated. 

7 REPLIES 7
FireMedic1
Community Leader
Mega Contributor

Re: Question About Experian FICO Re: Credit Cards

@elboullee wrote:

Haven't exprienced anything like this before, any thoughts and ideas are appreciated.