Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Denied from Capital One Secured Card

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Denied from Capital One Secured Card

I was denied from the Capital One Secured Card because they couldn't confirm my income. As a student, my only source of income is my summer internship, in which I'm receiving $4166/month (which is equivalent to $50K annually). An associate at the firm I'm interning at told me to put $50K as the annual income even though I'm not technically making that amount. Capital One requested further proof and I sent them a signed letter from my employer stating proof of employment and my exact salary. Is there a way I can successfully dispute this result? If not, what should I do now? I'm in the process of credit repair after a family member used my SS when I was a child, so I'm feeling quite discouraged after being rejected from a secured card.

Message 1 of 11
10 REPLIES 10
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Denied from Capital One Secured Card

You can ask your bank if they offer secured credit cards, I asked mine when i was in the branch for something or other and they did so i went ahead and started one with a $1k balance. Worth a shot. Elan Financial was the company that handled my banks cards, i guess they are pretty wide spread. Good luck with your rebuild, its not hard, just takes patience, persistence and read these threads when ya can.

Message 2 of 11
Anonymous
Not applicable

Unfortunately you got called out on income.  It rarely happens.  Bad luck.  When you graduate they’ll be begging you to apply. BofA has a great secured card program.  So does Navy Federal.  You can do a search and find many options.  

Next time you apply just add up your internship $ and any money received to pay your bills per year and divide it by 12.  It may not lead to a big limit at first, but it will grow.

Good luck to you!  As always ymmv.

Message 3 of 11
silver_idle
Established Contributor

@Anonymous wrote: