cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Verizon / Synchrony Approval But Score / Limit?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Verizon / Synchrony Approval But Score / Limit?

I applied for the new Verizon card last week.  Immedialy saw a hard pull for TransUnion.  Score was 791 at the time.  Was approved for $2100.  Was a bit dissapointed considering my income and score are not an issue.  But I thought maybe it's the pandemic crack down on credit.  I resolved myself to the low limit.  Got a letter in the mail today from Synchrony bank.  It stated that when they pulled my credit I was not given a prime rate and by law they have to notifiy me why.  Continued reading and on the next page, it states that my credit score is 547.  First of all, what the actual heck.  Secondly, what's the deal here?

The score range in the bottom box states 300 - 620.  

I've never done business with this bank before.  What is going on here?  

Message 1 of 23
22 REPLIES 22
M_Smart007
Legendary Contributor

Re: Verizon / Synchrony Approval But Score / Limit?

Message 2 of 23
AllZero
Mega Contributor

Congratulations on your approval!
Message 3 of 23
Girlzilla88
Valued Contributor

Synchrony is Vantage Score I believe?!   Somebody correct me if I am wrong?!

Message 4 of 23
Anonymous
Not applicable

@Girlzilla88 wrote:

Even if it is.. my TU and EQ Vantage scores are both over 780.

Message 5 of 23
Anonymous
Not applicable

@Girlzilla88 wrote:

They may use other scores such as FICO, LexisNexis or internal ones.

Message 6 of 23
CreditCuriosity
Moderator Emeritus