cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Differences in credit score programs, which do you trust?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Differences in credit score programs, which do you trust?

Hi all, I am new to myFico and have a strong commitment to keeping and building my credit now more than ever. 5 years ago I got divorced, stayed positive and have been proactive on building back my credit and saving for retirement. My question is what product do I trust in telling me what my scores are if there are so many products out there. For instance I have Credit Karma that tracks cs from TU and EQ then I have a free acct with Experian that shows me a score from them, then I have a credit card that tracks my score from Experian but there is a 30 point difference. Thats cookoo! I've been reading on here a lot and know that there can be as much as 79 different reports, etc etc but where can a newbie get scores to keep track of lets say every quarter? Some places want $30 per month and that gets expensive especially if you want 3 reports/scores.  I appreciate your answers and your advice. 

Message 1 of 13
12 REPLIES 12
kxkxkxx
Regular Contributor

Re: Differences in credit score programs, which do you trust?

Congrats on repairing your credit...as many here will tell you, it's a marathon not a race....As for the different scores and products...do not trust the Credit Karma or others like it...they are called FAKO scores....they can give some kind of indicator, but it will never be accurate.

Personally I don’t mind paying the $30 a month on here for all 3 scores and the quarterly 3B report....that's $1 a day...I can swing that. Plus, people forget it also monitors your passport, drivers license, as well as alert you when new Accounts were opened in your name and you were not aware...so there are other benefits besides just glancing at your score.

With all of the hacking going on out there, this gives me some peace of mind....for $30.

Cheers.