Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Please Help Define my Goals

tag
ToxikPH
Established Contributor

Please Help Define my Goals

If you're in the garden thread you may have seen I'm having some trouble defining my goals and my reasoning of being there. I wanted to write a post outside of there in case it gets a little to close to app talk. 

In all honesty, I started gardening in order to pay down my debts to $0. My problem is that I'm not very good with long term goals so I need short term goals to break it up. I know that each card I pay off is a "goal" but it doesn't feel that way and just feels like movement along with that long term goal. I really want to get to the bottom of this flowchart from Reddit (https://www.reddit.com/r/personalfinance/comments/4gdlu9/how_to_prioritize_spending_your_money_a_flo...). My main problem with both paying everything off and this flowchart are some major things that are blocking me. 

Each semester I have to pay a large amount towards school somewhere to the tune of 2.5k-3.5k. I would totally take out a student loan but because I'm living with my parents I'm only offered unsubsidized meaning I have to pay interest the second I take out the loan. This would leave me in more debt than the way I'm doing it now. I want to pay off all my cards before they get out of 0% but thanks to my student loan not recognizing I'm in school full time it won't go back into grace. I requested it get updated three months ago and nothing. It's a small loan of 1.5k with 3.6% interest. 

Now my problem; with adding those two factors from school (1.5k loan and 2.5k-3.5k each Jan/Aug) and the CC debt I'm in I don't really know the best way too hit my goals. Here is a list of my current balances and the dates the 0% on them ends:
Discover: $952  July 2020
BBP: $1581 June 2020
R+: $958 October 2020